I'm  a  jazz pianist, born in Japan and currently residing in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Before moving to Amsterdam, I had lived in New York for 7 years. No matter where I live, no matter whom I play with, despite the differences of nationalities, cultures and backgrounds, we always find common ground in jazz music - improvisation.

New album release!

      Atzko Kohashi, piano & Tony Overwater (bass)

“Just like the bright crescent moon has the unlit part of the moon to complete its full shape, the sound of our duo is also there, sometimes in the shadows, sometimes in the light, changing its shape from time to time. It’s just like Yin Yang; one thing can’t exist without another. We come from different countries and different musical backgrounds, but somehow we fit together. Music can make people free and open-minded!”                                       Atzko & Tony

  1. Wise One (by John Coltrane)

  2. What’s New (by Bob Haggard)

  3. Lonnie’s Lament (by John Coltrane)

  4. De Boot (by Tony Overwater)

  5. Crescent (by John Coltrane)

  6. Nightfall (Ellen David) (by Charlie Haden)

  7. Mr. Syms (by John Coltrane)

  8. Our Spanish Love Song (by Charlie Haden)

  9. As Long As There’s Music (Jule Styne)

You can order CD via Contact page. 

Crescent レビュー.jpg

{CD review}


"Be free and open-minded” is essential for jazz. This is the message that Kohashi learned from her life experience in different cultures.

These two elements - freedom and openness – are falling apart from our society amid growing fear of Corona pandemic, but still alive in their music.

John Coltrane, a giant of jazz who went through a turbulent time, changed his style from hard bop to free jazz. Kohashi noticed that Coltrane's music had a healing effect on his music. For this time, the duo is challenging such world with piano and bass.

The first half of the album focuses on songs from Coltrane's album "Crescent." As you listen, the influence of Charlie Haden whom bassist Tony Overwater studied with, also emerges. Haden's philosophy - not being bound by formality - can also be heard in Tony's approach.

The last song on the album, “As Long As There's music” was performed spontaneously without any prior arrangement. It’s a soulful dialogue between the two humans.

You can see the joy of life through their performance with full of freedom and openness.

                                           Mokoto Gotoh, jazz critic